Newsprint nail art for literacy awareness

Newsprint Nail Art by Shelly Najjar for Ten Tiny Paintings

November is a time to be thankful for what we have. I’m grateful that I have had people investing in my literacy development throughout my life, because it has helped me in my academic, professional, and personal activities. It makes me sad to think that everyone does not get the same opportunity.

As part of my bucket list, I want to raise $1000 for a cause I’m passionate about. That cause, among others, is literacy. The organization I chose to support is a non-profit called National Novel Writing Month, and in addition to sponsoring an event by the same name, they also support literacy efforts, donate curriculum kits to schools worldwide, and help teach children and adults healthy expression through storytelling.

In a world where there are so many problems with self-esteem and violence, I am happy to support an organization that tells people their story is worth telling, and then helps them tell it. I did this nail art to bring awareness to this cause and my fundraising goal, and perhaps get some more people to give (at the fundraising page www.classy.org/shellynajjar).

Newsprint Nail Art by Shelly Najjar for Ten Tiny Paintings

What I used:

  • base coat
  • rubbing alcohol
  • white polish (unnamed, no number) by Kiss Colors (part of French Mani kit)
  • newspaper article, cut up into strips
  • generic quick dry top coat

What I did:

Step 1: Base coat. 2 layers of white polish. Let dry. Add quick dry top coat.

Step 2: Take newspaper and lay across nail. Drip 1 drop rubbing alcohol on top of newspaper and press gently onto nail and hold for 12-15 seconds. (You may want to use a piece of plastic between the newspaper and the finger you use to press it to your nail, or the skin will dry out.) Gently peel off the newspaper. (Think temporary tatoo – leave it on long enough for the print to transfer but don’t hold it on too long or it could mess it up or the paper could get stuck to your nails.) Top coat and done!

If you’re interested in learning more about the non-profit or donating to this cause, please go to my fundraising page: www.classy.org/shellynajjar.

Newsprint Nail Art by Shelly Najjar for Ten Tiny Paintings

One thought on “Newsprint nail art for literacy awareness

  1. Pingback: Nail art designs I want to try | Ten Tiny Paintings

Comment, Question, Feedback of any sort?

