Interview with Sarah Waite from Chalkboard Nails

Radiant Orchid Nail Art design by Sarah Waite at Chalkboard Nails (www.chalkboardnails.com). (C) Sarah Waite, Used with permission.

Radiant Orchid Nail Art design by Sarah Waite at Chalkboard Nails.
(C) Sarah Waite, Used with permission.

One of the things I like most about blogging is the blogging community. When I started getting interested in nail art (years before I had this blog), I began by reading interesting nail art blogs. I get ideas and inspiration from so many people like Sarah Waite from Chalkboard Nails, and I’m grateful that with the Internet, it is so easy to connect with anybody.

I was very happy when Sarah said yes to my request to interview her. Apart from having a great blog name and tagline (“The only time you’ll enjoy nails on a chalkboard”), her designs are fun to look at and her tutorials are easy to follow. I’ve learned a lot from her blog, and I’m honored she took the time to answer my questions so that I could share them with you.

Name and Blog:
Sarah Waite from Chalkboard Nails

Fun fact about you:
I cry at just about anything. Happy, sad, funny… I’ll cry at all of them. I’ve cried at jewelry commercials at Christmastime.

Funner fact:
At the risk of sounding impressed by myself, I’m a good singer! I’m also pretty good at mimicking specific singer’s voices (like Bruno Mars or Idina Menzel, for example).

Funnest fact:
I had six wisdom teeth. They’ve all been removed over two separate surgeries.

What do you think has been essential to your success as a nail art blogger?
Pinterest has been huge for Chalkboard Nails. I always aim to create original content, and Pinterest gives people an easy way to share that content with others.

What was something that surprised you about blogging?
I was surprised by how much work it is! I always figured that it wasn’t easy, but nothing could have prepared me for the actual amount of work a single nail art post requires.

Who or what inspires you?
Lately I’ve been getting inspired by color combinations. I’ll try to group up colors that I like together and then figure out what kind of design would best showcase them. This method leads to a lot of abstract or geometric nail art. Historically, I enjoy taking inspiration from some of my favorite elements of pop culture like TV shows or movies.

What is your all-time favorite nail art design (of yours or someone else’s)?
My favorite nail art design that I’ve done would likely be my radiant orchid freehand. I don’t know if I can pick a favorite by someone else. There are way too many talented artists out there with incredibly distinct styles.

If you had to describe your blog in 6 words or less, what would you say?
Archive of fun, colorful nail art.

If you weren’t doing anything related to nail art, what would you be doing in your free time?
I enjoy cooking a lot, so I think I’d be honing that craft instead. I’m a solid baker, but am not very good at improvisational savory cooking, so I’d like to improve there.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?
Don’t be afraid to do things differently than everyone else.

Thanks Sarah for your time and for sharing your nail art with the blogging world! You can check out her designs at Chalkboard Nails, and on all the major social media sites (links available on her blog).

Want more interviews like this? Leave a comment and let me know who you would like to see featured, and be sure to subscribe to stay updated on all the latest posts!

Comment, Question, Feedback of any sort?

