Diagonal Autumn Tips – Nail Art

This was an intermediate design created to cover up a design fail. I know the index finger isn’t really at that much of a diagonal, but I didn’t care because it was an intermediate design I was going to cover up anyway. If I did this for real, from the start, I would use tape to make sure the lines were straight going from corner on one side to midway on the other side.

Diagonal Autumn Tips Final Design by Shelly Najjar at Ten Tiny Paintings

What I used:

Supplies for Diagonal Autumn Tips Nail Art design by Shelly Najjar at Ten Tiny Paintings

  • Base coat (not shown)
  • Blush by e.l.f. (part of Necessary Nails collection)
  • Shield by Wet n Wild
  • Quicksand by Maybelline New York
  • generic quick dry top coat

How I did it/would have done it if I were starting from the beginning:

Step 1: Base coat (I already had this on from the earlier design, but if you’re starting from blank nails, you will want to add a base coat)

Step 2: Apply two coats of Blush by e.l.f. (also already on from the earlier design)

Step 3: At a diagonal, apply one coat Quicksand by Maybelline NY to tip. You can use a piece of tape (if Blush color is completely dry) to make the line straighter.  (I didn’t care because it was going to be covered up anyway. If I were doing this from the beginning I would also make more of an effort to make these diagonal, because the index finger’s almost just a plain curved tip, but I had to cover up any place I put the old design, and I wasn’t very careful to keep the line straight. You can also still see the paint underneath the red color, but don’t worry, you can’t see it after the next step)

Red step for Diagonal Autumn Tips Nail Art design by Shelly Najjar at Ten Tiny Paintings

Step 4: When dry, paint one coat of Shield by Wet n Wild on top of the diagonal tip.

Step 5: Top coat. (I skipped this because this was an intermediate design and going to be covered up)

[Covered up with Gold Gradient]

See all the posts in this series:

  1. Fall Dots (Attempt #1) = Fail
  2. Diagonal Autumn Tips (this post)
  3. Gold Gradient
  4. Gold with Black Swirls
3 thoughts on “Diagonal Autumn Tips – Nail Art

  1. Pingback: Gold with Black Swirls – Nail Art | Ten Tiny Paintings

  2. Pingback: Gold Gradient – Nail Art | Ten Tiny Paintings

  3. Pingback: Fall Dots (Attempt 1)- Nail Art | Ten Tiny Paintings

Comment, Question, Feedback of any sort?

