Jack-o-Lantern Nails

Here’s my latest polish design. It was my first time using white glue as a base coat for easier removal later, so we’ll see how long that lasts. I am hoping it stays at least 5 days.Jack-o-Lantern Nails

What I used:

Supplies for Jack-o-Lantern

  • White glue base coat (read how here) applied with the black plastic paint brush
  • Blush by e.l.f.
  • Modern Art by Rimmel London
  • Black by e.l.f. applied with the golden nylon 10/0 American Painter
  • Clear quick dry top coat (generic)

What I did:

Step 1: As mentioned in the list above, I started with a base coat of white glue, the kind that was on our school supplies list in elementary school. There’s really good instructions available, and it’s cheap. The reason I wanted to try it this time was that I plan on changing the design relatively soon, and my least favorite part of any nail art project is using the remover, so I wanted to test this out and see if it really lasted 5 days and if it really comes off as cleanly as reported. If it does, I can see this changing how I do my nails in the future. I applied the glue with a cheap plastic paintbrush.

Step 2: Once the glue was completely dried (clear and shiny, not tacky at all), I added one coat of Blush by e.l.f. because the orange color I have is not opaque, so if I want it to appear solid orange, I need to put something under it. If you have an opaque (non see through) orange color, you can skip this step.

First color: Blush by e.l.f.

Step 3: When that was dry, I added two to three coats of the 844 Modern Art by Rimmel London and let that dry.

Orange: Modern Art by Rimmel London

Step 4: Then I used a small art paintbrush to add the jack-o-lantern face to the big toenails. I’ve done this designs with toothpicks before too, so if you don’t have a paintbrush you can just use a toothpick. It makes clean up much easier too. Clean off the paintbrush with polish remover before the paint dries in the bristles.

Step 5: When the face is completely dry, add the top coat. I didn’t wait long enough on one side so the pumpkin face of the nails not shown got a little blurred (that’s why I switched which side I photographed).

One thought on “Jack-o-Lantern Nails

  1. Pingback: Nail Art Inspired by “Creativity for Sale” Book Cover | Ten Tiny Paintings

Comment, Question, Feedback of any sort?

